Insomnia Strikes Down Students


By Kevin Pannhurst

Many students the college face the problem of falling asleep on a daily basis; sometimes lying in bed for hours on end with sleep far beyond their grasp. This is the horrible world of Insomnia.

It’s easy to spot someone who’s had trouble sleeping; they always have the same tired look on their face. After catering to an inability to sleep, cutting days short to lay in bed earlier to attempt to fall asleep can be very discouraging. These aren’t the people who stay up all night staring at their computer monitors, playing video games, and out late partying.

With personal experience I can say getting to sleep is a tough challenge. I could go to bed at 9:30 pm just to lay in bed until 10am. One would think that I wouldn’t have trouble sleeping the next day if I didn’t fall asleep at all during the day. That’s not the case; I’ll have just as much trouble sleeping later that night despite feeling exhausted.

“Over the summer I had a week where I had slept about 10 hours. It was hard to get to sleep and to stay asleep; I would wake up about after an hour for no damn reason,” said student Marc Astacio.

Insomnia can be caused by a lot of things. One of the main causes is stress from work or classes, which is why it happens to students a lot throughout the semester. Students also drink coffee and energy drinks to help them stay up through the day. However too much can be a bad thing, a crash can occur and cause the person to fall asleep during the day. And the obvious: it can also prevent you from falling asleep.

I’ve found that insomnia is affecting student’s college life by preventing them to going to classes. Many students have had to skip going to class due to lack of sleep and its affecting their grades. While discussing insomnia with a student Katelynn Weatherup she had a pretty bad week as far as sleep goes: “Over the past 3 days I’ve gotten about 3 hours of sleep. I don’t think that I’ll be going to my early class”

From my experience I’ve come up with a couple tips to help you fall asleep at night. About an hour before bed keeping the lights off would be a good idea. If lights are on your body will think it’s still daytime and you’ll have some trouble falling asleep. Another tip is to not take a nap during the day. Though this can be different for everyone, for example if I took an hour long nap I won’t sleep a wink later that night because I just won’t feel tired at all. It also helps to try to get a regular sleep schedule going, though there are outside powers that can throw this off such as work schedules or having classes at various times.

I’ve taken on the responsibility of trying the new sleep-aid called Zzzyquil. Plenty of people have put up reviews of this saying it didn’t work, but it did work for me. Directly after taking it I would lay in bed and feel drowsy and would fall asleep within the hour. Upon waking up I felt great, I wasn’t drowsy and I was alert; ready to start the day. So I would recommend it if you’re having some trouble sleeping.

One response

  1. Great article Kevin. I started dozing off while reading it so your tips worked!

Leave a Reply

