The new iPhone 5 is here!


By Evann Perry

Ever since the first iPhone was released back in June of 2007, people worldwide have been going insane to own Apple’s version of the smart phone. There was no surprise; the new iPhone 5 would be an instant hit. Customers were able to pre-order the iPhone 5 one day before it was sold in stores. Previously, the iPhone 4 took almost 22 hours to sell out of their online stock. Unfortunately, this time around, customers were not as fortunate; the iPhone 5 sold out within 60 minutes after pre-orders went live. High demands for the phone cause problems on Apple’s and several other wireless carriers’ websites.

Customers who were denied access to purchase the phone online camped out early Friday morning in front of Apple, Verizon Wireless, At&t, and Sprint stores. At 8AM stores opened their doors for business, and within the first couple hours the new iPhone’s were sold out.

“I can’t wait for the 5 to come in the mail; the dude at Verizon said it will be at my house on the 26th of this month. I’ve heard so many different things on what it can, and can’t do. Honestly I really don’t care. I was due for an upgrade, and this is what I wanted. Just wish it came sooner so I could toss my old one,” said Patrick Dawson, a business major at Suffolk Community College.

The major differences Apple fanatics can expect from the new iPhone 5 are somewhat impressive. For starters, the phone has the brand new A6 microchip. The microchip is 22 percent smaller than the previous A5 microchip, and promises two times the CPU and graphics performance. The phone also has a new 4 inch retina display screen which is half an inch longer than the previous model. Even with the screen being longer, the phone is thinner, and lighter than ever before. The phone is also the first iPhone that is fully 4G, and international capable. The phone features an impressive 8.0 megapixel iSight camera with panorama, and a 1.3 megapixel front facing camera. Lastly, it comes with the newest mobile operation system iOS 6, which has the updated version of Siri, and the iCloud .

“I love the new iPhone, I think it’s a lot faster and smoother than my old iPhone 4. I like how you don’t have to connect to Wi-Fi to use face time anymore. I use to hate that on my old phone, because I wasn’t always near or had access to Wi-Fi when I wanted to use it. It made so much more of a hassle to use rather than a cool feature, so I only used it like five times. Now I can just face time using my phones internet which makes it way more convenient. Now all I have to do is convince my girlfriend to dish out the $200 bucks so I can chat with her on it,” said Mark Anderson, an English major at Suffolk Community College.

The iPhone 5’s biggest competition is the Samsung Galaxy S III. Both phones are basically neck and neck on paper when it comes to performance.  The Galaxy S III does have the bigger display with a 4.8 inch screen, and the option to add more memory to the phone with a micro SD card. Other than that, it comes down to user preference, whether the customer like Apple or Android products.

“I’m not a fan of the iPhone’s, said Drew Petis, a Business major at Suffolk Community college. I feel like people just want them because it’s Apple and their friends will think they’re cool. Every chick I see on this campus has an iPhone with the most ridiculous cases ever, while most of the guys have droids. I do think that the iPhone is a lot easier to use, which is why a lot of girls probably use them. But I just hate the fact that Apple limits you so much on what you can do with your phones, you have to do everything their way.  That’s why I love my droid, I can customize it just how I want it.”

Leave a Reply

