Safety In The Sky


By Melissa Ann Bornschein

As many students aware (TSA) stands for Transportation Security Administration which is apart of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. It has been brought to the attention of many individuals this holiday season that travelers would have to undergo a new way of screening for security Clarence when traveling by air.

“Before you go through this technology, we strongly recommend removing ALL items from your pockets and certain accessories that you might be wearing, including your wallet, belt, bulky jewelry, money, keys, and cell phone. Removing all of these items will reduce your chances of needing additional screening after you exit the machine. The officer who looks at your image cannot see you, so any irregularity that appears on the screen will require inspection to determine what it is.
After taking everything out of your pockets, passengers will be directed to walk into the imaging portal. Once inside, passengers will be asked to stand in a position and remain still for a few seconds while the technology creates an image of the passenger in real time. A remotely located officer views the image.
After review and resolution of any anomalies, the image is immediately deleted. The passenger will then be free to exit the opposite side of the portal and collect belongings. The entire process takes less than one minute. To avoid the chance of leaving any of your personal items behind, we recommend that you place them in your carry-on bag prior to entering the checkpoint.”- As stated from the website http://www.tsa.gov

Cathy Sincle- An education major sated “It doesn’t really bother me because it is the way of the world today unfortunately. What I am concerned about is the amount of radiation that this scanner gives off. I have heard it is minimal but it still makes me concerned for those who travel frequently, for me that is my only concern. I would rather be safe and if that means someone gets to look at my body as if they were looking at an x- ray so be it”

Jimmy Getri- An accounting major stated “I’m not a fan of x-ray imagery. I understand it has to be done but I feel there should be a more easy way to clear people traveling. I do think that advanced technology will help everyone stay safe in the sky thought”.

Mandy Yoell- A visual Arts major stated “I’m fine with it. If that is that has to be done let it be done, my only concern is if it is a man screening a man and a woman screening a woman. I’ve heard so many story’s on television about horrible experiences. I just don’t want an old man being a dirty old man taking advantage of his job.”

Andrew Visueh- A general studies major said he will be traveling this thanksgiving to Ohio to see his girl friends relatives. When I asked him if he accepts this new security check points as a passenger at Kennedy Airport He replied “Yes, it’s the way it has to be. I would rather wait in long lines and have a headache then be blown up by a terrorist or a mad man”. When asked if he feels the new security technology is appropriate he replied sating “Yes- I would rather be screened and safe”

Leave a Reply

