Students Prepare For Halloween Night


By Thomas Lucas

La Merte

Image by Señor Codo, via Flickr.

Halloween is coming up this weekend, and most students are prepared for a night of fun and screams. But Saturday isn’t all about what parties are going on, it’s also about what people are going to be dressing up as.

Every year there is a new selection of costumes for what’s in right now, this Halloween season the hottest costumes are Michael Jackson, Lady Gaga, and vampires. But there are still those costumes that you see every year such as the ghost-face killer mask from the movie Scream, Jason from Friday the 13th, and the usual cheerleaders, police officers, and doctors.

“I love Halloween; it’s so fun to dress as anybody that you want to be,” said Lisa Alteri, a Fitness major. Alteri quoted a famous line from the movie Mean Girls, ‘Halloween is the one night a year when girls can dress like a total slut and no other girls can say anything about it.’ “That quote is so true because you really can wear whatever you want just for fun,” Alteri said. This year I’m being Eve, like Adam and Eve. I’m wearing this really cute short dress with a corset like top, it has leaves all over it and it has this snake to where around your shoulders and a little apple bag. Me and all my Friend’s are going into the city in our sexy costumes.”

“My favorite thing about Halloween is going all out with my costume like I do every year,” said Eric John Thomas, a Criminal Justice major. “I am dressing up as Mr. T. I’ve been growing my hair a little bit longer on top so when I get it cut before Saturday it will be a good size Mohawk.”

Halloween isn’t for everybody; some people don’t really get into it like others. “I’m not sure what I’m doing, yet but I probably won’t be going out anywhere and will just stay home and hand out candy for the trick-or-treaters. I have a doctor’s costume but I’m most likely not going to wear it,” said Shannon Barkey, a student.

“I can’t wait to take my son out trick-or-treating for the first time,” said Felicia Logiudice, a nursing major. “He’ll be one a week after Halloween but it’s still going to be so fun to take him out in his little costume. We have matching ones, I’m going to be dressed as a dog and he’s going to be a little puppy.”

Halloween is great for all different types of people: younger children can dress up and go house to house for candy. Teens and adults dress up for parties and go out with friends, and many people, young or old, enjoy passing out candy.

One response

  1. Good morning, Happy Happy Hallowen!

Leave a Reply

